Banff/Jasper National Park 

So yesterday we had a leisure start to our morning. Had the hotel breakfast and packed the car (the guys actually took everything down for us the day prior) then we set out for Banff National Park. We heard it was going to be beautiful however, we were not ready for what was in store for us. Just driving up to the gate we were blown away. Our first stop was Banff Centre. The little town of Banff. It was so quant and touristy with still a small town feel. It even had a high school. This is remote Canadian Rockies. Our first stop was a little park and the wash house. Then to Patagonia where they welcomed Max into the store! Puppy love. 

We ventured down the street, stopped bought some postcards for Anthony to mail back to the Beal Family and to his new friends/cousins Riley and Jenna. And because of our stop in Steamboat Springs, Anthony will NOT stop talking about how he is going to be the next X-Games champ snowboarder (he has never snowboarder) oh to be 9 years old again. As adults we just wish to be debt free! Which is actually sad. Part of this trip has really opened my eyes even more to the beauty there is in the world and we have only traveled N. America. And by travel I mean drive and explore. I’ve flown into many places but I don’t feel like you get the same thing out of a tourist “vacation” as you do from trying to search for food and a place to stay, which requires you to interact with locals. Not having a cell phone or the handy dandy map quest also creates a different element of learning and taking in. The local people here in Alberta seem to be pretty similar demographic as the U.S. People from all over the world (Philippino, Hispanic, and Asian) I only know specifically the Philippines because there was a lady with a name tag. Unlike the U.S. Spanish is not a first or second option for a language. But one of the other Romance languages is FRENCH! I knew it would pay off to have spent two summers in Quebec!😊 

So after shopping and finding a new pair of boots for me, and some sack lunches and food for our cooler (we picked up a cooler on our way out of Steamboat Springs) we were off to site see. We pulled off onto some hiking area I fed the baby and Anthony and Nick withMax in tow, went beyond the tree line and what was sitting on the other side was a stunning river. It was a bright green color and had big patches of ice flowing down. There was even the train the passed through. I love trains and the would be a beautifully scenic trip. Our next stop was Lake Louise. Nick says “go ahead babe I’ll stay and watch the baby” Anthony and I made the short trek down to the frozen lake. Before we even came to the clearing I could hear voices off in the distance. Just sounds of pure amazement and laughter echoing. Once we came out to the opening it was so stunningly beautiful I am not even exaggerating that it almost brought me to my knees. I seriously felt like I walked into heaven. People were laughing and dancing, throwing snow balls. The sun was so bright off the white snow. There was a thick fog blowing over the tallest mountain peaks. I HAD to go back and get Nick! He couldn’t have missed this. I shuffled my way as fast as I could with loosing my breath because I was just in pure awe and it made me so happy I was giggling as I ran! I was out of breath when I came up to the car (not because I’m out of shape and ran uphill in the snow at an extreme altitude) but it was because at that moment, stepping out onto that frozen lake I was humbled! It was as if God had shown his face to me!! I think we all get wrapped up in our life which can feel so overwhelming and so “big and important” but a moment like this just made me think of one word “GOD” tears are brought to my eyes just writing about how gorgeous. (Ashley your wedding is going to be so breath taking) 

We continued on the drive through Canadain Rockies and hands down its better than the Colorado Rockies. 

We saw Glaciers and wildlife, the kids were happy and we were all together. We made it Jasper and the hotel we looked at staying at the day before was no where in site and there were mostly hostels. We decided to eat and get back on the road. Once we set out and were about 10 miles up the road snow started to fall and it came down fast and hard. We decided to turn back, but the question was “where is the road?” I could not even see the edges of the road and it was step drop offs on either side. Busting a u-turn was the only way back. I will say, Nick and I are really good about staying calm during hectic and confusing moments. (I would never travel with someone who panics) we calmly reassessed and made the turn around. We didn’t drive off a cliff and we made it back to town and found a hotel. And it was 114$ U.S. The room had three beds. And as much as I am against sleeping separate from my hubby last night was an exception. 3,415 miles side by side, 4 people/1 dog in a Subaru it was okay for us all to have our own bed. Rowan  Sage snuggled with mommy. 

We are now on our way to the ALCAN and that one way exit from Jasper was shut down this morning!!!! They said it was closed for 5-6 hours. So we made the command decision to take 16E and now we are on 40N headed to Grande Prarie then to Dawson’s Creek. Google it and see where we are and where we still need to go! It’s pretty crazy. 
Currently the baby is crying and Anthony is asking the same questions over and over haha. Stopping soon for gas and to fill our gas can (gas stations are scarce) and feed the baby. Enjoy the pictures from yesterday 

~Stephanie  

    
    
    
    
    
                                     
    
    
    
    
 

2 thoughts on “Banff/Jasper National Park 

  1. Reading your post I felt like I was there with you. I can recall having the same feeling when I visited New Zealand. Every corner we turned I was absolutely amazed God took my breath away with His beautiful canvas. Travel safe dear ones. Love to you all. Aunt Suzi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment